I’m One Wild and Crazy Guy

IMG_20170418_185911_791
Foreshadowing!

The title of this blog entry is ironic.  I spent the majority of this week working or gymming, and neither of those is particularly wild and crazy.  I’m trying very hard to crank my blogging load back up to a couple of times per week, but I don’t like to just post words (because that’s boring) but with Emily back in Tallahassee, who’s going to be taking pictures of me doing interesting things?

Well it’s funny you should ask Ryan–I happen to be learning how to record myself on video!

And while it might look like I’m using some interesting camera angles and what-have-you in that video, it’s more a side-effect of my camera man being Mr. 35lb Dumbbell, esq.  And while he’s passed the bar exam and is a Scottish Duke, his abilities when it comes to filming with my Samsung are somewhat limited (no thumbs, you understand).  All things considered though, I really enjoyed figuring it out, and I think I’m gonna have some fun with it overall.  Plus it’s like a two minute video!  That’s neat!

20170406_192631
Also, I got called this on Thursday.  So I got that going for me.  Which is nice.

Anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself.  Last week started with a solid bench workout with only a little bit of lingering pain in my shoulder, which is super awesome.  On Tuesday, things got a little experimental.  I did my first front squats (like ever, since the immortal Coach Hank never had us do front squats) which was uncomfortable and weird but I think will wind up helping my overhead press.

Then I did power cleans and push jerks for the first time since high school, and it went as well as you could probably predict already:

I hit 185 okay (pushing it overhead was child’s play, but cleaning it into my chest was an adventure).  It’s awkward and I’m rusty as all hell, but I think with a little practice, I’ll be able to hit 225 without too much trouble.

20170423_225109
Kelsey leaves me gainz notes.  She’s so sweet.

Wednesday was a shoulder day, but in all honesty, I did mostly rehab stuff to try and work the kinks out a little bit, and then I (gasp!) skipped Thursday and Friday primarily because my shoulders were friggin killing me and I don’t want to re-injure myself.  and also because Thursday was a 16 hour day (I’m grading over 200 assignments now, which is an adventure!)  One of these days I’ll detail what my job is like, but honestly for now I can’t be bothered.

This weekend, it’s worth noting, I got out of the house to go be sociable on four separate occasions!  I went over my parents’ house for dinner on Friday (fried fish, baked potatoes, and cantaloupe–my dad is a master fish frier) and then on Saturday, I helped my brother paint the practice field at the high school where he coaches and then lifted in his gym (see above video).

20170422_192558
It was delicious!

Then!  Kelsey and Brett took me to this place on 54 called Zim Zari, which was just fantastic.  I had conch fritter tacos with yucca fries and this delicious volcano sauce and a garlic aioli–holy crap you guys, do they have a fan in me!  It was amazing.  And they had this beer on tap from Brew Bus Brewing that was blueberry based with a lot of citrus…definitely a fan of that beer.  Dangerous.  Their IPA was also good, but it was overshadowed by the first beer.

That was it for me though, as the reason I got dinner from them (other than the amazing company–they’re both awesome) was that I was their designated driver for the evening.  I dropped them of at an event at Escape Brewing then went home and had some recharge time at home with the fuzzlers.  When I went to pick them up though, they gave me one of their sampler brews, which was incredibly nice, and it turned out that they had bought me a bottle for when we got home, which was also delicious.  They’re too good to me.

20170422_195134
Check them out if you’re near Tampa.  100% worth the drive.

Also of note:  my YouTube channel was approved for monetization!  So that’s exciting.  I’m not asking you to go watch and re-watch my videos because that would be unethical.  Right?  But in other news!  I figured out how to mess around with video game footage and post it to YouTube!  Which is exciting.  So enjoy!  Or don’t.  I’m not the boss a you.

And then…

Gainz board:

  1. Bench:  350
  2. Squat:  455
  3. Deadlift: 520  (Not for long baby!)
  4. Overhead Press:  275
  5. Incline Bench: 315
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

