Phew, Back at the Keyboard

To paraphrase the title I wrote literally two minutes ago, phew, I am indeed back at the keyboard after taking the past week off primarily because my workload wound up being much heavier than I expected.  You know how that goes.  The number of students that I grade has gone up, which is good because it’s nice to see a wider variety of up-and-coming chefs in my day-to-day, but it also meant I started sacrificing blogging time for sleep at night, and I don’t regret it at all.  I think I’m gonna have to parse down my blogging schedule–every day just doesn’t seem practical and I don’t lead an interesting enough life right now to justify it.  Maybe I’ll do some kind of 5 day on, three day on schedule, where…

IMG-20170416-WA0009
I couldn’t finish.  It was awesome.

Right.  Anyway, it was Easter yesterday if you’re a Christian, so I hope everyone had a nice time visiting with the Easter Bunny, attending mass, and gorging themselves with ham and candy (ideally not at the same time, but I’m not here to judge).  We did something of a potluck affair, with my sister-in-law bringing pommes puree (or mashed potatoes, if you prefer), my mom bringing chocolate brownie trifle and a ton of candy, my aunt bringing a chocolate raspberry cake, and Kelsey making a vegetable platter and providing the hams that I roasted with a glaze (recipe below) along with a variety of kielbasa.  I also did a green bean and bacon casserole and some roasted corn.  It was awesome.

Before that, on Holy Saturday, Nick came out from St. Pete’s to celebrate a new job he’s being offered, and of course we went to the gym.  He did a chest/shoulders workout that was pretty solid while I did deadlift and little else, because of course I did.  Man I love deadlift.  But it’s been a rough month for deadlift PRs (and honestly, fitness in general if I’m being honest).  But that is in the past for the moment!

So yeah!  Gainz Board makes a change!  But if you’re the kind of person who skips to the end of an article before starting at the start, you already know where I’m going with this–new squat PR too!  Managed to knock out 455 for a set of one despite having serious lower back pain and what I have no doubt is anterior pelvic tilt.  That was on Holy Tuesday, and a bunch of stuff happened between those two things, but come on, it’s nice to bunch like things together!

20170417_182229
I hope she’s not mad I shared this!

You’ll note I didn’t have a video of my squat PR.  The secondary reason for that is that I wasn’t very confident that the attempt would be successful, but the primary reason is because my girlfriend returned to Tallahassee.  Which is a bummer for a lot of different reasons, but one of those reasons is that she’s almost always the camera person when I do a lift.  But she visited on Saturday and she’s coming back tonight, so it should be a pretty solid weekend.

For anyone keeping up on the epic tale that is my shoulder injury, I’m reasonably sure I’m in the home stretch–Just three hours ago, I managed to do a pretty darn heavy set of bench press, (135×10, 185×8, 225×7 275×4 315×1, also unfilmed) with very little pain.  135, 185, and 225 were all without pain (the seventh rep in 225 was a little pinchy but ignore-able) and the 275 and 315 sets were painful but not nearly as bad as it was when I managed to squeeze out 350 a while back. I laid off incline bench entirely, and I’m pretty sure I’ve lost a fair amount of strength on my bench, but it shouldn’t take too long to get it back.

20170416_154308
I don’t think there’s much to worry about.

I’ve also started my cardio back up!  And that’s in addition to the cardio I did the other day–I’m talking about cardio every…single…day.  Yep.  I’m back on the stupid stairmaster in order lose some stupid weight for stupid summer.  I know, as a strongman I’m not supposed to worry about appearances, but c’mon.  It’s pretty sweet being the shredded guy at the beach, and I’ve never really hit that goal, so lay off.  But anyway, it turns out that it’s a good idea regardless because my cardiovascular fitness really needed a shot in the arm (metaphorically, calm down) and it’s good that I’m getting back after it.

That being said, holy moley did I let my abdominal strength slip over the past month!  I normally don’t sweat skipping abs here and there because deadlift, squat, and pretty much every other major lift uses so much core strength, but wow do I need to focus on that–I did cardio/abs last week Thursday, and on Friday my abs were KIIIIIILLLLLING me.  It was unpleasant.  I did weighted crunches, weighted side twists, weighted leg-ups, and the ab wheel.

I’m pretty sure that covers my entire week.  I’m considering changing the format of the gainz board–now it’s just text, but I also keep it up on chalk in my bedroom and I might use a picture of the actual board.  More on that later.  Anyway, stay strong y’all–in the fight against gravity, everyone’s doing their part…ARE YOU???

20170416_161007Ham Glaze

20 oz Dr. Pepper (NOT diet)

1 T honey

2 T maple syrup

1 t cinnamon

Put everything together on heat and reduce down to a sugary syrup.  Reduce to low, add cinnamon, let warm for about 15 minutes.  I strain it before using it, but you don’t really need to.  Not to toot my own horn, but this glaze is amazing.  Save the run off once the ham is roasted (glaze also combined with ham juice) and thicken it up with a couple tablespoons of roux and then bam–gravy.  You’re welcome.

Gainz board:

  1. Bench:  350
  2. Squat:  455  (AWWWW YEAAAAAAH!!!!)
  3. Deadlift: 520  (AWWWW YEAAAAAAAH!!!!)
  4. Overhead Press:  275
  5. Incline Bench: 315
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

