Monday Monday Monday

It’s been a few days since I wrote an entry, mostly because there hasn’t been a heck of a lot to talk about.  On Friday, I managed to drag my behind out for a deadlift session and some back exercises and what have you, which was kind of on the disappointing side if I’m being honest.  Thursday, I did a weighted walk for 1.5 miles with 105lbs, and that kinda shredded my lower back (not in the good way) which kinda janked up my deadlift.

So of course, being the level-headed, responsible grownup that I am, I attempted a PR (spoiler in the video title, so don’t look.)

So yeah, that was disappointing.  But even with a sore back and a garbage attitude, I still managed to get it up about 5 inches (I know what I said) so that probably bodes well for future attempts, right?

20170407_184134[1]
Not the posture of a victorious man
Saturday, my girlfriend left for Tallahassee after hanging out down here for about a month (which was pretty sweet, and I was sad she had to leave, but that’s the adult world right?)  I spent Saturday afternoon and evening hanging out with my parents and my older brother and sister-in-law, and it was a lot of fun.  My mom made baked ziti, which of course I forgot to take a picture of because Emily is in Tallahassee now.  Regardless, it’s always nice spending time with my family and Saturday was no exception.

 

A little backstory:  I left Ohio and my family back in 2002 during my sophomore year of college.  Technically I left in 2001, but during my freshman year of college, I came home basically every weekend, so I don’t really count that.  After I graduated in 2005, I came home for a few months, then went to Southern California for 5 months before joining the Navy, after which I was gone pretty much until 2012, when I moved to Colorado for three years before FINALLY coming back home (everyone had relocated to Tampa by then) in 2016.  So yeah, I was away more or less for about 14 years.  That’s a long time when you put it in words like that.

So anyway, Sunday was a light and lazy day.  Also took that as a rest day, though I did some rehab stuff for my shoulder (which is almost completely recovered) at home.  It was very chill and I’m reacquainting myself with Fallout 4 and spending some time screwing around with my new video editing freeware.

20170405_011320[1]
Ghost hunting
I’ve also been photographing my cats to a frankly disturbing degree.  Which is probably not healthy, but whatever.  International chest day today, which was promising.  It’s still a little pinchy (yes, I’ve been saying that for a while, but whatever I sprained my shoulder, give me a break) but I managed to press out 315 without too much ado, which is super awesome.  When I’m healed up, hopefully I’ll be slaying these upper body workouts.

Debating between squats and deadlifts tomorrow.  Not sure how to decide.  Let me know what you think here or here.

Gainz board:

  1. Bench:  350
  2. Squat:  450
  3. Deadlift: 515
  4. Overhead Press:  275
  5. Incline Bench: 315
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

