Good(ish) News!

20170402_221104[1]
Poor lil feller’s all tuckered out!
I was half-tempted to skip overhead press this week, as I’m nervous about re-aggravating my shoulder, which is absolutely on the mend. But if I were the kind of guy who made good decisions, I’d be the normal-sized lounging kitchen novice, so I figured what the heck and hunkered down to do some push press.

My first set was with only the bar, which was painful last week but did not hurt even a little bit this week.  I followed that up with 95×10, which only felt a little tight in my right tricep, so I stretched a bit and kept on keeping on with 135×10.  This set was a little pinchy but nothing that induced a panic.  I went after 185×8 and then 225×5, both of which felt alright so I jumped straight to 265.  This is only ten pounds off my PR, so I knew if I was able to do this without pain, my shoulder would be pretty well mended.

Well, it hurt a little bit so I think I still have a little ways to go, but it felt good enough that I forged ahead with 280 because if you’re not going for a PR, what’re you doing really?  I mean honestly.   Anyway:

So yeah, it didn’t turn out so hot.  Normally this is where I’d say something uplifting like “keep failing until you succeed” or whatever, which is totally fair and is where I am right now in terms of headspace.  But at the time?  hahahahaha!

20170405_201812[1]
Not pictured:  A happy camper
But what’re you gonna do?  It was still a good day–helped my girlfriend get some of her stuff handled, screwed around at Barnes and Noble for a bit, had a nice coffee, and a delicious gyro.  (I’ll be talking about the pronunciation of the word gyro at a later date, but I don’t have the energy to get into it right now).

20170405_141457[1]
It was glorious
Got it at this place called The Hungry Greek, which was right across the way from Dickey’s from yesterday, and I’m glad that we gave it a try.  I don’t fancy myself an expert in Greek food but I do have a little bit of experience, and while I don’t think HG’s were 100% authentic, they were incredibly delicious.  Probably could’ve used a little more salt and pepper in the meat itself, I don’t blame them for keeping it a little on the mild side because I tend to slightly overseason.

The Tzatziki (which I spelled correctly without looking it up, thankyouverymuch!) really ties the sandwich together, and the tomatoes were very fresh, which honestly was kind of a surprise this early in the year.  They weren’t greasy or slippery or overly heavy, and it was the perfect amount of chow for a nice lunch that I really enjoyed.

I’ve often said to myself that, although I’m not a fan of specialty kitchen gear in the home, if money weren’t an option, I would get a vertical rotisserie so that I could make my own gyros, shawarma, and other vertically spun meats.  Because holy shit you guys, these sandwiches are great.  Even if I’d had a bad day (which I didn’t) this would’ve cheered me right up.

Gainz board:

  1. Bench:  350
  2. Squat:  450
  3. Deadlift: 515
  4. Overhead Press:  275
  5. Incline Bench: 315
2 thoughts on “Good(ish) News!

Add yours

  1. Man this was awesome. You smashed it! Powering through the pain! That must be the best combination though, lifting chef! All the gains haha! Are you on FB at all? We have a really cool group of fitness enthusiasts all sharing tips and tricks, it would be awesome to have you join us! Here’s the link if you’re interested – https://www.facebook.com/groups/theactiveyou/

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

