Skwaaaats

So yesterday was a pretty good day.  After I knocked out my article, I got to bash out an unexpected workout for international chest day.  If you don’t recall or haven’t read that much of this blog, I had car trouble the other day and yesterday that car was in the shop to find out what the heck was wrong with it, so I had just sorta figured that I wasn’t going to get to the gym on Monday.  A bummer, but it’s alright I guess.

20170328_142816[1]
HOLY SHIT YOU GUYS!!!!!
Luckily, my sister-in-law texted that she would be able to give me a ride!  Hey hey sometimes surprises are the best!  So I tentatively eased into a chest workout, unsure of how my touchy shoulder would react, and it turned out okay!

  1. Bench:  135×10 225×8 275×6 295×4 315×4 (huge surprise on this last one)
  2. Shoulder rehab stuff
  3. Flies 195×10 205×10 215×10 (not as wide an extension as I’d like, but I’ll take it)
  4. Shoulder rehab stuff
  5. Incline bench 135×10 225×8 255×4 275×1 (didn’t wanna push it)
  6. Shoulder rehab stuff

I reconfigured my bench and incline a little bit so that I lower the bar to a position farther south on my chest (just below my nipples, into the underboob area) and it took the pressure off my shoulders and relieved literally all the pain, which is why I was able to hit 315 for 4.  It was awesome.  I’m still nervy about shoulder/overhead press day, but I think my shoulder is on the mend.

Anyway, today I hit a weirdly obscure PR:

That’s 405×4!  (225×10, 315×8 385×6, 405×4, 425×1)  Used to only be able to hit it for 3, so that was exciting!  I probably could’ve squeezed out another rep for 425, but it is what it is.  Definitely going to be sore tomorrow, but that’s also definitely a good thing.  Granted, I could probably stand to go a little deeper on my squats, but I’m not a huge fan of ass to grass (my opinion will change once I get me some of that sweet sweet health care!) so this is probably going to have to do as far as PRs go for the moment.

Anyway, good news!  The “car trouble” was apparently a squirrel who got his nuts caught in the engine because the mechanics basically said “there’s nothing wrong with this car.”  It stopped sputtering and the check engine light went off, so I guess everything is just fine?  I’m no car guy, but I’ll definitely take it!  Didn’t cost me a nickel!  Whaaaaaaat?!?!?

20170327_203359[1].jpg
A fish taco without the tortilla.  This was round two–I didn’t want to hog all the tortillas.
Anyway, I also ate a pile of fish for dinner last night, which brought to mind that if you don’t use your oven’s broiler to make fish, you’re not doing it right.  Basically, you place a slice of lemon or orange onto a baking sheet, then a filet of tilapia or swai over top of that and put it under the broiler for two or three minutes, then drop the temp to 325 and bake for about 8 minutes.  It shreds really nicely, which makes it perfect for fish tacos!  I added sour cream, cheese, salsa, and paired it with a nice bottle of Gatorade!

Gainz board:

  1. Bench:  350
  2. Squat:  450
  3. Deadlift: 515
  4. Overhead Press:  275
  5. Incline Bench: 315
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

