Inspirado

I hit a series of new PRs (bench, squat, and deadlift) over the past month, and that combined with a couple of people buzzing me to ask for fitness advice, I figure what the heck, I’ll start a blog.

Cap
Someone had dropped 120s from overhead. I was annoyed.

Anyway, this is my first post.  I’m probably going to do an about me at some point down the line, but for right now it’s more a matter of putting words on the page in order to get the ball rolling.

I’ve been wrestling with some issues with my right shoulder lately, which has been really frustrating.  My left shoulder is just fine, but when I do bench or overhead press I get a really sharp pain at the base of my lift in my right shoulder.  I’ve read that I could’ve had an impingement, whatever that means, or that I could have strained my rotator cuff.  Either way it’s really frustrating because I hit 275 on overhead press about a month ago and this whole bullshit is really getting between me and hitting 315.  I mean, I get that this meatsack isn’t a hydraulic press and sometimes injuries happen, but it’s incredibly frustrating, and the republican party seems hellbent on taking away my health care so these injuries do keep me up at night more than they should.  I’ve been lifting lighter this week and last week I took off nearly the entire week (I did superlight weight and did a lot of stretching and yoga, which returned a great deal of my flexibility).  I just wish it’d sort itself out already.  I don’t have time to piss around waiting for my joints to stop being pussies.

I’m not normally this grouchy, I promise.  I’m actually quite optimistic–I have a bit of a headache and like I said, I’m wrestling with some injuries, both of which are frustrating.

Oh!  I did sort out a recipe for “edible cookie dough” that’s basically a sweet muscle goop that I think people will enjoy:

Protein cookie dough:

1 cup almond flour/peanut butter powder

4 scoop vanilla protein

1 tsp salt

½ cup peanut butter

¼ cup maple syrup/honey

½ cup milk

20170323_194718
Don’t add Resolve carpet cleaner to your dough.  It screws with the flavor profile.

 

I use a stand mixer to just beat the shit out of everything but the milk until you wind up with pea-sized lumps of dough.  Add milk a bit at a time until dough remains.  If you’re starving, you can just dive right in, but it’s better if you refrigerate it overnight.  You can also knead in chocolate chips, which aren’t really healthy I guess, but who cares?  It tastes good.  Eat it.  I did, before I took a picture of the final product, which is why I didn’t post it.  When I make it again, I’ll update this post.

Gainz board:

  1. Bench:  350
  2. Squat:  450
  3. Deadlift: 515
  4. Overhead Press:  275
  5. Incline Bench: 315
One thought on “Inspirado

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

